Key takeaways
- There is no trail to the summit: the standard South Side route from Timberline gains roughly 5,200 ft over the Palmer Glacier, Crater Rock and the Hogsback, with an early start around midnight to 1 am. The route is on climbing Mount Hood.
- Above 9,500 ft a climbing permit is required, one per climber, bought on recreation.gov; a fee applies, the permits are unlimited and valid immediately after purchase. Details on the climbing permit.
- The hikes are on the flanks: Mirror Lake is 1.9 miles to the lake, Ramona Falls a 7-mile round trip and Cooper Spur the highest point reachable by trail, about 8,500 ft according to hiking clubs. See the best hikes.
- Each trailhead has its own pass rule: a Recreation Pass at many trailheads, free self-issued Wilderness permits from May 15 to October 15, and Sno-Park permits from November 1 to April 30 (USFS). The rules are on passes and permits.
- High trails open in July: the USFS gives the Timberline Trail a July to October season, while climbers aim for spring to early summer. More on the best time to hike.
- The bookable products are day trips: five van or private-car days from Portland of 8 to 9 hours, whose listings give Timberline Lodge 30 minutes to 1.5 hours, and a 1-hour flight over the mountain. The choice is on which tour.
On the mountain and on GetYourGuide
Trails, lodges and permits on Mount Hood are run by the US Forest Service and its permit holders. The six products on GetYourGuide are separate; each listing states free cancellation up to 24 hours before for a full refund, and start times show in the calendar of the booking widget.
Free or on a pass, on the mountain
- Timberline Lodge at about 6,000 ft, open to visit, with free parking in summer and no recreation pass needed there then (USFS)
- Flank trails such as Mirror Lake, Trillium Lake, Ramona Falls and Zigzag Canyon, with a Recreation Pass (day-use fee, Northwest Forest Pass or Interagency pass) at many trailheads
- Free, self-issued Wilderness permits from May 15 to October 15 in the Mount Hood Wilderness, filled in at the trailhead
- The summit climb, with a Mt. Hood Climbing Permit for all travel above 9,500 ft, bought on recreation.gov; a fee applies
- Oregon Sno-Park permits from November 1 to April 30 at winter trailheads and at Timberline
Booked on GetYourGuide
- Van days from Portland: the Mt. Hood Day Tour (8.5 hours), the Columbia Gorge waterfalls tour (8 hours), the waterfalls and wine tour (8 to 8.5 hours) and the full-day gorge and Fruit Loop tour (8.5 hours), per their listings
- Private: a 9-hour private tour for one party of up to 5 people, with 1.5 hours at Timberline Lodge according to its itinerary
- By air: a 1-hour airplane flight from Troutdale over the mountain and the gorge
- Guided summit climbs are run by guide services holding USFS special use permits and are not sold on GetYourGuide
- The current price shows in the booking widget of each product; this site sells nothing itself
The Mt. Hood day loop from Portland
The day, gorge and wine tours follow a similar loop: east from Portland through the Columbia River Gorge, on to Hood River and the orchards of the Hood River Valley, then south into the Mt. Hood National Forest to Timberline Lodge and back to Portland on US-26. The stop times below come from each tour’s own listing.
Travel Portland puts the mountain about 60 road miles and 70 to 90 minutes east of Portland via I-84 and US-26. In winter, Oregon chain law applies, with the current requirements on signs; check TripCheck.com or call 511 before driving.
- Portland: Start points differ by product: hotel pickup in central Portland for the Mt. Hood Day Tour, Director Park for the gorge waterfalls tour, hotel pickup downtown for the wine tour, the South Waterfront Park area for the Fruit Loop tour (the exact spot is on the listing), and Portland International Airport or Hotel Lucia for the private tour.
- Columbia River Gorge and Multnomah Falls: The falls drop 620 ft, and the USFS calls them the most visited natural recreation site in the Pacific Northwest. A timed-use permit covers the I-84 Exit 31 lot from late May to early September, 9 am to 6 pm (USFS Multnomah Falls page). The day, gorge and wine listings give 30 minutes here, the private tour 1 hour.
- Vista House at Crown Point: The domed stone observatory above the gorge. The gorge waterfalls tour lists 15 minutes here and the private tour 30 minutes; the gorge tour also stops at Latourell Falls for a 20-minute walk, per its listing.
- Bonneville Fish Hatchery: A 30-minute stop with a sturgeon pond on the waterfalls and wine tour, according to its itinerary.
- Hood River: A town where the Hood River meets the Columbia, known for windsurfing (Travel Oregon); it is not on the mountain. The day, gorge and wine listings each give it a 1-hour lunch break, which the gorge tour’s itinerary marks “additional fee”. The Mt. Hood Day Tour adds Rowena Crest Viewpoint, 20 minutes.
- The Fruit Loop and Parkdale: Travel Oregon describes the Hood River Fruit Loop as a 35-mile drive through orchards and farm stands, most active from April to October. Listed stops: Packer Orchards, 30 minutes (day tour); Parkdale, 15 minutes (gorge tour); a winery, 1 hour of tasting, with tasting fees not included (wine tour); local produce samples (Fruit Loop tour).
- Mt. Hood National Forest: The drive south toward the mountain. Wildfires closed a number of trails on the east side of the mountain in late summer 2026; check the Mt. Hood National Forest alerts page before setting out.
- Timberline Lodge: The WPA-built lodge at about 6,000 ft on the south side. Listed time here: 30 minutes (day tour, “free time, hiking, self-guided tour”), 40 minutes (gorge tour), 30 minutes (wine tour) and 1.5 hours (private tour).
- Government Camp and US-26: US-26 reaches its highest point on Mount Hood, about 4,000 ft, at Government Camp (Travel Portland). The Mirror Lake trailhead is 0.4 miles west of the village. The day and gorge listings give the drive back to Portland about 1.5 hours, the wine tour 70 minutes.
The loop as a self-drive day is on Mount Hood in one day, and the roads and transit are on how to get there.
How booking works
Decide what the day needs
A trail hike or a summit climb is not bookable on GetYourGuide. The six products are day trips by van or private car and one flight; the cards below give each one’s duration, start point and time at Timberline Lodge.
Pick a date in the widget
The widget shows live availability from GetYourGuide. Start times show in the calendar, and the current price shows in the widget.
Book with the listed cancellation terms
Each of the six listings states free cancellation up to 24 hours before the start for a full refund. The day, wine and private listings say they run in all weather; weather terms differ by product and are on each listing.
Meet at the listed start point
Hotel pickup in central or downtown Portland for the day and wine tours, Director Park for the gorge waterfalls tour, the South Waterfront Park area for the Fruit Loop tour, Portland International Airport or Hotel Lucia for the private tour, and 1350 NW Perimeter Way, Troutdale, 15 minutes early, for the flight.
Check dates for the Portland: Mt. Hood Day Tour
An 8.5-hour day in English for a small group limited to 12, with a private option, in an air-conditioned Mercedes-Benz Sprinter van with hotel pickup in central Portland. Its itinerary lists Multnomah Falls, a 1-hour lunch break in Hood River, Rowena Crest, Packer Orchards and 30 minutes at Timberline Lodge, and it includes the Multnomah Falls permit and parking fees in permit season. It is a day trip, not a guided hike. Pick a date and live availability appears here; the current price shows in the widget.
Three van days from Portland, side by side
The Mt. Hood Day Tour, the Columbia Gorge waterfalls tour and the waterfalls and wine tour, one column each, from their listings. All six products are set out together on the tours page.
| Flagship dayPortland: Mt. Hood Day Tour | From Portland: Columbia Gorge Waterfalls and Mt. Hood Tour | From Portland: Waterfalls, Mt Hood, and Wine Day Tour | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Duration | 8.5 hours | 8 hours | 8 to 8.5 hours |
| Start | Hotel pickup, central Portland | Director Park, downtown Portland | Hotel pickup, downtown Portland |
| Group | Small group, limited to 12; private option | Small group, limited to 12 | Small group; private option |
| Gorge stops | Multnomah Falls, Rowena Crest | Multnomah Falls, Vista House, Latourell Falls | Multnomah Falls, Bonneville Fish Hatchery |
| Time at Timberline | 30 minutes | 40 minutes | 30 minutes |
| Walking | 30-minute walk at Multnomah Falls | Up to ½ mile round trip, per the listing | Short stops; distance not stated |
| Wheelchair access | Not stated | Not suitable for wheelchair users | Not stated |
| Extra | Packer Orchards; Falls permit included | Lunch stop marked additional fee | 1-hour winery stop; tasting fees extra |
| Book this | Book this | Book this |
Flagship dayPortland: Mt. Hood Day Tour
- Duration
- 8.5 hours
- Start
- Hotel pickup, central Portland
- Group
- Small group, limited to 12; private option
- Gorge stops
- Multnomah Falls, Rowena Crest
- Time at Timberline
- 30 minutes
- Walking
- 30-minute walk at Multnomah Falls
- Wheelchair access
- Not stated
- Extra
- Packer Orchards; Falls permit included
From Portland: Columbia Gorge Waterfalls and Mt. Hood Tour
- Duration
- 8 hours
- Start
- Director Park, downtown Portland
- Group
- Small group, limited to 12
- Gorge stops
- Multnomah Falls, Vista House, Latourell Falls
- Time at Timberline
- 40 minutes
- Walking
- Up to ½ mile round trip, per the listing
- Wheelchair access
- Not suitable for wheelchair users
- Extra
- Lunch stop marked additional fee
From Portland: Waterfalls, Mt Hood, and Wine Day Tour
- Duration
- 8 to 8.5 hours
- Start
- Hotel pickup, downtown Portland
- Group
- Small group; private option
- Gorge stops
- Multnomah Falls, Bonneville Fish Hatchery
- Time at Timberline
- 30 minutes
- Walking
- Short stops; distance not stated
- Wheelchair access
- Not stated
- Extra
- 1-hour winery stop; tasting fees extra
Photo gallery
Mount Hood in nine images
Two lakes that reflect the mountain, a summer meadow, the lodge, a waterfall and a ridge on the flanks, a canyon on the Pacific Crest Trail, and two stops on the day loop from Portland.









The six Mount Hood tours from Portland
Four van days, one private tour and one flight. Each card links to the live GetYourGuide listing, where the calendar and the current price appear; the listings each state free cancellation up to 24 hours before.
Hotel pickupPortland: Mt. Hood Day Tour
Max 12 guestsFrom Portland: Columbia Gorge Waterfalls and Mt. Hood Tour
Winery stopFrom Portland: Waterfalls, Mt Hood, and Wine Day Tour
Fruit LoopFrom Portland: Full Day Gorge Waterfalls & Mt. Hood Tour
Private, up to 5Mt Hood & Columbia River Private tour from Portland
By airPortland: Flightseeing Tour Mount Hood
What travellers mention afterwards
Short paraphrased lines from travellers who booked these products, with the one each took.
A group of just two, and the guide did not cut anything short.
The small group meant extra photo stops along the way.
A small group that got on well together all day.
Lots of stops, views of Mt. Hood and Mt. Jefferson, and wine.
It reached the good spots without a fight for parking.
A clear day and a smooth flight.
Paraphrased from travellers who booked through GetYourGuide. The six, close up ›
Quick answers before setting out
Four short answers to common questions, with links to the full pages.
Is Mount Hood still an active volcano?
It is not extinct. The USGS rates its threat level “Very High”, lists 1865 as its most recent eruption and dates the Old Maid eruptive period to about 1781. Fumaroles at Devil’s Kitchen and Hot Rocks still steam near the summit. More on is Mount Hood a volcano.
Is Hood River on the mountain?
No. Hood River is a town on the Columbia River, north of the mountain, where the Hood River meets the Columbia (Travel Oregon). It is the lunch stop on the day, gorge and wine tours and the start of the Fruit Loop drive. See Hood River and the Fruit Loop.
Was The Shining filmed at Timberline Lodge?
Exterior shots of Timberline Lodge were used in the 1980 film; the interiors were studio sets, per secondary sources. More on The Shining and Timberline.
Is there still a bridge at Ramona Falls?
No. The USFS states: “There is no bridge, nor will one be installed.” Hikers on the 7-mile round trip ford the Sandy River. Details on Ramona Falls.
Other dates and options
More Mount Hood tours from Portland with live availability, for dates when the tours above are full.
Mount Hood, explained
Mount Hood is an 11,240 ft stratovolcano and Oregon’s highest point, about 60 road miles east of Portland in the Mt. Hood National Forest. Its summit is a technical climb with no trail; the hiking happens on its flanks, and the tours sold online are day trips from Portland.
Where the mountain is, and what the summit really is
Travel Portland gives the drive as about 60 miles and 70 to 90 minutes via I-84 and US-26. Some surveys and listings give 11,249 ft for the top, while the USGS and USFS use 11,240 ft.
The USFS is direct about the top: “Mt. Hood is a technical climb - there are no trails to the summit.” The standard South Side route leaves Timberline around midnight to 1 am and gains roughly 5,200 ft over the Palmer Glacier, Crater Rock and the Hogsback, finishing through the Old Chute or the Pearly Gates. The Mountaineers grade it “Grade II, Class 3 glacier climb”, and the USFS climbing page lists its hazards, from avalanches and fumarole holes to icefall and rockfall. The usual season is spring to early summer; in late summer 2026 USFS climbing rangers stopped recommending summit attempts for the season because of elevated hazards. The route is on climbing Mount Hood, the summit question on can you hike Mount Hood, and the risks on safety.
The hikes on its flanks
Trillium Lake has a 2-mile barrier-free loop around a 63-acre lake, and Mirror Lake is 1.9 miles from a trailhead 0.4 miles west of Government Camp, with 460 ft of gain (USFS). Ramona Falls is a 7-mile round trip with about 1,000 ft of gain; the USFS says of the Sandy River crossing, “There is no bridge, nor will one be installed”, so hikers ford it. From Timberline Lodge the Pacific Crest Trail leads west to Zigzag Canyon, 4.4 to 5.4 miles round trip depending on the source.
On the northeast side, the Cooper Spur trail climbs from Cloud Cap at 5,850 ft to about 8,500 ft, which hiking clubs describe as the highest point on the mountain reachable by trail: about 7.1 miles round trip and 2,680 ft of gain per Oregon Hikers. The USFS notes that Cloud Cap Road is usually snowed out until late June or July. The Timberline Trail circles the whole mountain in about 40 miles (USFS; hiking guides measure 38 to 41.5), takes most backpackers 3 or 4 days and crosses rivers such as the Sandy, the White and the Muddy Fork. More trails are on the best hikes.

Permits and passes
Each trailhead has its own rule, set out on the USFS passes page. Many need a Recreation Pass, which means a day-use fee, a Northwest Forest Pass or an Interagency pass. Trillium Lake accepts only the Northwest Forest Pass in lieu of the fee, and Lost Lake Resort accepts neither pass. Free, self-issued Wilderness permits are required from May 15 to October 15 in the Mount Hood Wilderness, and Oregon Sno-Park permits from November 1 to April 30.
The climbing permit is a separate thing. A Mt. Hood Climbing Permit is required for all travel above 9,500 ft, one per climber, bought on recreation.gov as a single-trip or annual permit; a fee applies, and permits “are not limited and therefore cannot sell out”. The old free self-issued climbing permit is outdated. Climbers register in the Wy’East Day Lodge at Timberline. Details on passes and permits and the climbing permit.
Seasons
The USFS gives the Timberline Trail a July to October season, and McNeil Point, a high trail, can stay snowbound through June. Climbers aim for spring to early summer; The Mountaineers give May and June. Winter brings Sno-Park permits and Oregon chain law on US-26, with current requirements on signs and on TripCheck.com. Wildfires closed a number of trails on the east side of the mountain in late summer 2026; check the Mt. Hood National Forest alerts page before setting out. The months are on the best time to hike.
Timberline Lodge
Timberline Lodge stands at about 6,000 ft on the south side. It was built by the WPA, dedicated by President Franklin D. Roosevelt on 28 September 1937 and opened on 4 February 1938, and it has been a National Historic Landmark since 1977. The lodge and the USFS give nearly two million visitors every year. It is open to visit, and in summer no recreation pass is needed to park. The Palmer Snowfield has summer skiing from June to August (timberlinelodge.com). Exterior shots of the lodge appear in The Shining. More on Timberline Lodge.

The volcano
The USGS rates Mount Hood’s threat level “Very High” and lists 1865 as its most recent eruption. The Old Maid eruptive period, about 1781, followed a dormant period of more than 1,000 years, and Crater Rock is the surviving remnant of a lava dome from that time. Fumaroles at Devil’s Kitchen and Hot Rocks, in the south side crater, create deep holes and cracks in the snow (USFS), and five seismic stations sit within 12 miles. The name comes from Lt. William Broughton, 1792, after Admiral Samuel Hood. More on is Mount Hood a volcano.
What is bookable
The six products on GetYourGuide are day trips and a flight; none of the six listings is a guided hike or a climb. Guided summit climbs are run by guide services holding USFS special use permits and are not sold there.
- Van days from Portland. The Mt. Hood Day Tour runs 8.5 hours with 30 minutes at Timberline Lodge (“free time, hiking, self-guided tour”). The gorge waterfalls tour runs 8 hours with 40 minutes there and states a “maximum typical walk distance: ½ mile round trip”. The waterfalls and wine tour runs 8 to 8.5 hours with a winery stop, and the Fruit Loop tour runs 8.5 hours with a naturalist guide, per their listings.
- Private. The private tour takes one party of up to 5 people for 9 hours, with 1.5 hours at Timberline Lodge on its itinerary.
- By air. The flightseeing tour is a 1-hour airplane flight from Troutdale over the mountain and the Columbia River Gorge, for up to 3 passengers.

Each of the six listings states free cancellation up to 24 hours before. The six are set out together on the tours page, the choice by group and time on which tour, and the drive itself on how to get there.
Frequently asked questions
How long would it take to hike Mount Hood?
It depends on which hike. The summit is a climb, not a hike: the South Side route gains about 5,200 ft from Timberline, and The Mountaineers advise an early start at 12 am or 1 am. On the flanks, Mirror Lake is 1.9 miles to the lake and Ramona Falls a 7-mile round trip (USFS). Times are on how long it takes to climb.
Can a beginner climb Mount Hood?
The Mountaineers grade the South Side route a “Grade II, Class 3 glacier climb”, and the USFS lists avalanches, fumarole holes, icefall, rockfall, long sliding falls and weather among its hazards. Guide services holding USFS special use permits lead climbs. More on can beginners climb.
Can you climb Mount Hood in one day?
Climbers on the standard South Side route set out from Timberline in the night: The Mountaineers give a start at 12 am or 1 am, and the USFS advises getting up and back down from overhead hazard zones such as the Old Chute before they are in the sun. See climbing it in one day.
What is the best hike near Mt. Hood?
It depends on the day. Trillium Lake is a 2-mile barrier-free loop, Mirror Lake 1.9 miles to the lake with 460 ft of gain, Ramona Falls a 7-mile round trip and Cooper Spur about 7.1 miles round trip to its top (Oregon Hikers). The list is on the best hikes.
How much does it cost to hike Mt. Hood?
Many trailheads need a Recreation Pass (a day-use fee, a Northwest Forest Pass or an Interagency pass), Wilderness permits are free and self-issued, and a fee applies for the climbing permit above 9,500 ft. Current amounts are on the USFS and recreation.gov pages. Details on passes and permits.
What is the best time to climb Mount Hood?
Spring to early summer, per Mt. Hood Territory; The Mountaineers give May and June. In late summer 2026 USFS climbing rangers stopped recommending summit attempts for the season because of elevated hazards, rockfall above all. More on climbing Mount Hood.
How long is the hike around Mount Hood?
The Timberline Trail #600 is about 40 miles according to the USFS, and hiking guides measure 38 to 41.5. Most backpackers take 3 or 4 days, in a July to October season, with river fords along the way. See the Timberline Trail.
Do you need a guide to hike Mount Hood?
The flank trails need passes and permits rather than a guide. For the summit, each climber needs a climbing permit above 9,500 ft, and guide services holding USFS special use permits lead climbs; they are not sold on GetYourGuide. More on do you need a guide.
How many people climb Mount Hood?
The USFS says “Every year thousands of people climb Mt. Hood”, and a 2025 reminder from the forest was reported as up to about 10,000. Details on how many people climb.
Is Mount Hood a dead volcano?
No. The USGS rates Mount Hood’s threat level “Very High” and lists 1865 as its most recent eruption; five seismic stations sit within 12 miles of it. See is Mount Hood a volcano.
What was filmed at Mount Hood?
Exterior shots of Timberline Lodge appear in The Shining (1980); secondary sources describe the interiors as studio sets. The lodge itself was built by the WPA and dedicated by President Franklin D. Roosevelt in 1937. More on The Shining and Timberline.
Is there anything to do at Mount Hood?
Timberline Lodge is open to visit, the Palmer Snowfield has summer skiing from June to August, and trails run from lake loops to the Timberline Trail. The list is on things to do.
Questions or corrections: [email protected]